DIY Doll Flannel // Sewing Tutorial and Styling 3 Outfits

Hey everyone! I’m really feeling the autumn vibes today, so I decided to make a quintessential autumn clothing item for my dolls: a comfy flannel!

This is going to be half DIY and half “look I’m making this”, because I’m using a slightly modified pattern from Pixie Faire, and they include detailed instructions with their pattern.

Anyway, let’s get into it!

Materials:

  • Flannel / plaid fabric (I’m using a plaid fleece for extra coziness)
  • This pattern
  • Sewing notions (scissors, thread, pins, etc.)

Cut out all your pattern pieces, but make the sleeves about four and a half inches longer. I just traced the pattern onto a blank sheet of paper and redrew the short sleeve pattern as a long sleeve.

Also, instead of cutting the front pieces out on a fold and the back pieces out individually like it says in the pattern directions, cut the front pieces out individually and the back pieces out on a fold. That way, the back of the flannel will be one piece, and the front will be separated.

Put the front and back together, good side to good side, with the armscyes lining up. Sew the shoulders together.

Cut out a piece for the collar of the flannel. It should be 11-12 inches long, and a little over half an inch wide.

Pin the collar to the neckline of the front and back pieces, good side to good side, and sew. You can topstitch the collar in place afterward, but I didn’t find it to be necessary.

Hem the bottoms of the sleeves, then pin and sew them into the armscyes, good side to good side. I show it turned right side out after being sewn here.

After that, pin and sew the sleeves and side seams, good side to good side.

Then you’ll have the basic shape of your flannel!

From here, you can hem the bottom and front of your flannel, and fold over the collar of you so choose. You could also add buttons.

I decided to hem everything but leave it buttonless.

And after those finishing touches, your flannel is complete!

If you need more detailed instructions, they’re all in the T-shirt pattern linked above.

What I really love about this flannel (other than the fact that it’s so soft and cozy) is its versatility! Boy dolls, girl dolls, fancy, casual…it works! So I styled a couple outfits to show it off.

It’s perfect for your dolls to wear hanging around the house on a lazy Saturday. Just eating Froot Loops and scrolling through AGTube.

Tank top: DreamWorld Collections

Sweatpants: DreamWorld Collections

Slippers: Sophia’s on Amazon

It looks so adorable paired with jeans for a little autumn outing! Shoutout to that little coffee cup I made two years ago.

Tank top: DreamWorld Collections

Jeans: sewn by me; tutorial here

Boots: American Girl

Purse: sewn by me

Would you guys be interested in a tutorial for the purse? I might post it anyway, even if no one wants it. Heh.

And the flannel even looks great dressing down a cute party dress on a chilly day! This would be a fun winter / Christmas outfit, too.

Dress: sewn by me

Shoes: American Girl

***

Well, that’s a fun little flannel to add to your dolls’ autumn wardrobe! Please let me know if you make this, but it’s okay if you don’t. 🙂

What’s your favorite season to dress your dolls for? Would you want a post on how to make a doll purse? What was your favorite outfit that Jessi modeled?

Thank you so much for reading!


7 thoughts on “DIY Doll Flannel // Sewing Tutorial and Styling 3 Outfits

Leave a comment