Ranking ALL the DIY Doll Clothes

Hey everyone!

For the past two years-ish, I’ve done a ranking of all the doll clothes that I’ve made in that past year.

But this year I decided to make it hard on myself and just rank everything I’ve ever made!

Within reason, obviously. I’ve made a ton of clothes for Reesa, I have some I’ve given away, and yeah, I’ve thrown away some, too. But all in all, the number of doll clothes I’ve kept for myself adds up to 33.

So…let’s get into it!

33. Yellow Robe

This robe is definitely super cute, and very versatile! But it was no-sew and took, like, two minutes to make. So I didn’t rank it as high as others that took a lot of work.

32. Gold Dress

I made this dress before I had a sewing machine. It’s cute and all, and I’ve used it fairly frequently, but it’s also a fabric that’s very prone to unraveling, which has made all of the seams pretty messy.

31. Swimsuit

Jessi just looks so cute in this! I’m still obsessed with the little photoshoot I did of her in it. But it was also no-sew, so once again, not ranked as highly.

30. Red Shorts

These were a test for a shorts pattern I made, and they turned out well enough that I decided to keep them! They’re not super easy to mix and match, since they’re kind of a vibrant color, but they’re definitely great for the Fourth of July.

29. Pink Polka Dot Dress

This dress might be cute if it were a little shorter, but with the length it’s at and the polka-dot pattern, it’s giving nightgown a little. Plus, the elastic along the top ended up a bit messy.

28. Pink Heart T-shirt

The photo’s a little out of focus (oops), so you can’t really see, but it’s just a white T-shirt with a heart embroidered on it. Pretty basic, and I actually don’t put my dolls in it that often.

27. Gray Shorts

Similar to the red shorts, these are fine. I just don’t put my dolls in shorts super often, and I have other pairs I prefer.

26. Jessi’s Pajamas

Of course Jessi would have pajamas with macarons on them.

They’re pretty cute, but there’s a couple mistakes with them that still bother me. Also, I made them a while ago, so I don’t have quite the same enthusiasm for them anymore.

25. White Coat

This is pretty cute! It’s one of the first things I made with my sewing machine. The only thing is that it’s a little small and doesn’t really close all the way. I feel like Dahlia looks so cute and dramatic in this picture though!

24. Jean Shorts

Why is Izzy modeling all the shorts? I didn’t do this intentionally…

I like these. They’re a nice basic to have during the summer, but I made one of the rips a little too high up…oops. Oh well, it works!

23. Ski Coat

I worked really hard on this coat, so it’s a little sad that it’s so far down the list, but the pattern that I designed wasn’t perfect. The neckline looks a little weird when the coat is closed, and one sleeve is a little too tight. I do love the color and the lining though!

22. Dahlia’s Pajamas

These PJs are a little better-made than Jessi’s—I’d finally gotten my pants pattern pretty well worked out at this point—so that’s why they’re a bit higher on the list.

21. Light Pink Tank Top

This is also a great staple, especially for summer. It matches really well with things and was super easy to make…which is partially why it’s lower down the list, since it didn’t take a ton of blood, sweat, and tears.

20. White Cardigan

This cardigan is a great basic. I just don’t use it a ton anymore, which is why it ended up on the lower half of the list.

19. Orange Sundress

I absolutely love how this color looks on Dahlia! I don’t adore the ribbon or the fit as much, though.

18. Overalls

These overalls are not perfectly made by any means. They’re actually fairly messy. But I think they’re adorable and I’m proud of how they turned out anyway.

17. Purple Cardigan

I love to put my dolls in this cardigan in the fall. It matches well with things without being overly boring, and I definitely like that about it. It was pretty easy to make, though.

16. Red Carpet Dress

I made this for Jessi for the AAG red carpet event this summer. Overall, I really like it. I’d never made a dress with a mermaid cut before, and I like having it as a unique piece! However, it didn’t end up as clean as I’d like.

15. Awards Dress

This is the dress Jessi wore for the Adventures Awards this year! It’s pretty cute, and I like the sparkle and the flowy style, but once again, it didn’t come out as clean as I would have liked. Mostly because I just winged it without a pattern.

14. Pinafore

At this point, we’ve pretty much gotten into the pieces that I really love. Some, I just love more than others. And this little pinafore – jumper style is so cute! I love to use it for preppy school outfits.

13. Light Blue Floral Skirt

I love this skirt! I did a photoshoot of Jessi in it once…I don’t love how the photos from that turned out, but I definitely still have a passion for the cute little flowers.

12. Halter Crop Top

Izzy’s in her dramatic era I guess…?

This little halter top is such a good wardrobe staple, but it elevates it a little with the wrap top style. I use it all the time.

11. White Long-Sleeve Crop Top

Another nice basic. I really love the softness of the fabric and the wide cuffs for this one!

10. Light Wash Jeans

We’re in the top 10! These are one of the first pairs of pants I even made. They’re hand-sewn and splitting open slightly in the back. But I love them anyway. And overall they’ve lasted for a pretty long time!

9. Pink Ribbed Sweater

I made this one relatively recently, but it’s grown on me very quickly. For one, I love dressing my dolls in pink, and for two, I love sweaters. For me and the dolls. Really, it’s a match made in heaven.

8. White Floral Dress

Dahlia looks so adorable in cute flouncy floral things.

I like the tiered style of this dress, and the tiny flowers are so perfect for a doll-sized outfit!

7. Navy Sweater

Once again, I have an erstwhile love of sweaters, and this one just looks so refined and preppy! Hence its position in the top 10.

6. Dolphin Shorts

This is a great tutorial from dolly_d3lights on YouTube…you can find it if you just look up “diy ag doll shorts”. They’re really just the perfect versatile athletic shorts for the dolls, and I use them all the time in the summer!

5. Pink Hoodie

I also have an erstwhile love for hoodies!

I pretty much just wear sweaters and hoodies.

Anyway, I love this hoodie. I’m pretty proud of it, and all of my dolls look so adorable in pink, so it definitely gets a lot of use!

4. Teal Dress

I don’t think I’ve shown this dress off at all yet, but I’m very proud of it! I designed the pattern myself, and I love how neatly it came together and how CUTE that little ruffle is! It definitely deserves its spot in the top 5.

3. Pink Floral Set

You may recognize this set being worn by Summer in AAG, the photoseries Reesa and I made last year! And I really, really love it. It suits Jessi so well, and it looks adorable together as well as mixed and matched.

2. Flannel

These top two are both ones I’ve posted tutorials for, so maybe I just have a little extra fondness for those items? But either way, this flannel is really cute. It goes really well with pretty much anything (as demonstrated in the post) and it’s also very soft to the touch.

1. Mom Jeans

I have at least one of my dolls in these jeans at all times. I seriously love them so much, they go with anything and everything, and they remind me of a pair of jeans I own myself! Here’s the tutorial if you’d like it!

***

So that took me, like, two weeks to put together! But we’re here at last.

I’m…not sure why I put myself through that? But now I have a definitive ranking of alllll the doll clothes I own!

Well, until next year.

Thanks so much for reading! Do you agree with my ranking? What’s your favorite piece you’ve sewn for your dolls?


10 thoughts on “Ranking ALL the DIY Doll Clothes

  1. All of these clothes are so cute! (And wow, you’ve made a lot… my dolls have apparently been neglected in the handmade clothing department.) I think my favorite would be the dress you ranked #4. I can’t believe you made the pattern for that! 😊 When I try to make my own patterns, I’m never happy with them. 🥲

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I mean, all the pieces I’ve seen that you’ve made have been really amazing, so quality over quantity!

      yeah, pattern making is definitely trial and error. I haven’t actually made a ton of great ones, so I totally get that.

      Like

  2. Oh, these are awesome! I especially like Dahlia’s sense of style, love all the cute flowery dresses/skirts!! (The dress you put in 8th place, that’s my favourite!)

    Also, I’m just realizing you have a doll bean bag chair and it’s very cool!

    Perhaps I should do something like this with all the doll clothes I’ve made (though it might have to be split into two parts lol). I did do a sort of challenge once where I tried to see how many days my dolls could get through wearing only homemade clothes (link in case you want it: https://hedgehoghollow.home.blog/tag/homemade-doll-clothing-challenge/) but that was 4 years ago and they have a lot more clothes now.

    -ForestPoodle88

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Yes, the floral are definitely a vibe.

      Thanks! I made it with a tutorial from Pixie Faire.

      wow, that’s pretty cool! I’d love to see a ranking post from you!

      Like

  3. I have no idea how you ranked these because even the lowest ranked ones look fantastic!
    I think the awards dress mightttt be my favorite? But everything is super cute! You did a great job on making all of these!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment